Capriol Suite (Peter Warlock/Frazier) RFM 1004


SKU: 513769 Category:


Full suite includes 6 movements. Movements can can also be purchased individually for $50 each (see below).
1. Basse-Dance | Duration: 1’ 42”
2. Pavane | Duration: 2’ 10”
3. Tordion | Duration: 1’ 7”
4. Bransles | Duration: 2’ 3”
5. Pieds-en-l’air | Duration: 2’ 38”
6. Mattachins (Sword Dance) | Duration: 1’ 16”

Peter Warlock was the “musical nom de plume” of Philip Heseltine (1894-1930), an intensely colorful Englishman who, in 1926, composed his most famous work for string orchestra, Capriol. In March 1928 Warlock scored a setting of this music for full orchestra, which is rarely performed. Richard Frazier has based his version for symphonic band on a composite of these two settings. Warlock drew from dancing melodies composed in the sixteenth century, placing them in the context of the harmonic language of the early years of the twentieth century in a way that is fresh and vigorous but that, at the same time, honors the customs and style of Elizabethan England. This suite of dances is a pure delight, full of contrast, terpsichorean energy, and heartfelt musical sentiment. In this arrangement for concert band Richard Frazier creates a kaleidoscopic layering of instrumental color that truly brings this music to life.

PDF Sample (first page of each movement only)
LISTEN: Mvmt 1Mvmt 2Mvmt 3Mvmt 4Mvmt 5Mvmt 6

March 4, 2020 3:05 pm

Comments are closed here.