Scenes from a Life for Brass Octet RFM 4002


SKU: 515862 Category:


A Richard Frazier original – Duration: 14 min
Brass Octet Instrumentation: 3 trumpets, horn, 2 trombones, euphonium, and tuba
1. Prologue
2. Joie de Vivre (Joy of Life)
3. A Piece-A-Cakewalk
4. Rapids
“Scenes from a Life,” which won honorable mention in the Humboldt Brass Chamber Music Workshop’s 2011 composition contest, was written in 2010 to celebrate the life of David L. Waters, bass trombonist with the Houston Symphony Orchestra for 43 years, where he won the admiration of practically every great conductor of the twentieth century. It opens with a Prologue that is, like David, straightforward and honest, without any pretense. Joie de Vivre (Joy of Life) attempts to capture, in music, the energy and zest for life that David possessed, and concludes with a ballad for brass that employs the mellow brass sonorities that were among David’s favorite sounds and are evocative of his gentle spirit. A Piece-A-Cakewalk is a musical description of David’s sense of fun and features a nice melody for the euphonium, David’s first brass instrument, which he played with great virtuosity and beautiful tone. The concluding movement, Rapids, is a musical description of a nine-hour trip down the Guadalupe River on an inflatable raft, one of many remarkable memories of great times with David.

LISTEN: Movements 1 & 2 | Movements 3 & 4
PDF (first page of each movement)
(These links will open in a new window. Close the window to return to this page.)

March 4, 2020 3:03 pm

Comments are closed here.